LabVIEW Champion: Jeffrey Habets

Member Profile - Jeffrey Habets

Jeff_Plane.jpg

Name:
Jeffrey Habets

Home:
Weert, The Netherlands

Programming Languages:

LabVIEW (and a long time ago: PHP, C, C++, C#, Pascal, Assembler)

Certification:

CLA (2005), CPI (2012), CTA (2015)

Used LabVIEW Since:

Version 4.0 (1997)

Applications Areas:

Automated test systems based on LabVIEW and/or TestStand

Machine control and monitoring

R&D Automation

Data-acquisition systems

Distributed measuring and control systems

Biography:

I hold a Bachelors degree in Technical Computer Science and came in first contact with LabVIEW during my graduation assignment in 1997. Before that I did a lot of programming in C, mainly aimed at the OS/2 operating system. I even released a couple of free- and shareware programs for OS/2 back in those days.

In the first week or so of my graduation assignment I was a little bit skeptical about LabVIEW ("I can do this quicker/better/faster in C..."), then after coding my first while loop with a lot of cases, each connected to a boolean button terminal(!), it appeared to me that this was probably not the way it was ment to be. I browsed through some course material, started over again with state-machines and saw the (dataflow-)light. It went all uphill from there. 🙂

After graduation I started working as a project engineer at an engineering firm where I worked on a multitude of LabVIEW projects and still did some C (NT kernel level driver and embedded (uC) Linux) along the way too. After 8 years or so the LabVIEW 'department' still hadn't grown a lot (it was me and one other engineer) and it appeared to me there was not a lot perspective that this was going to change anytime soon. I was pretty convinced though, that there where a lot more interesting LabVIEW projects to take on out there. That's when I decided to start my own engineering firm, completely aimed at delivering solutions based on LabVIEW.