LabVIEW APIs Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Make Optional Changes to an Express VI while running Parent VI

I am a self-taught Labview user and I am looking to integrate a the Multiresolution Analysis Express VI with my code to calculate an impulse response function, however I would really like to have the option to open the configuration panel and change my settings, or continue with the established settings, while my VI is running.  I found a discussion on the board explaining how to programmatically run the dialog (http://decibel.ni.com/content/message/15131#15131), but I don't understand all of the language.  For example, I don't understand what "private method of the Node Class to Launch  Config" means.  Although I did manage to put a configuration VI on the panel, by going to "Select a VI..." on the  block diagram in inserting the configuration VI directly.

Config Prop.bmpConfig Prop.png

I found the subSource VI, however I can't figure out how to create a  reference to it, since I can't use "Open VI Reference."  Does anyone have any  suggestions?

Thanks,

Bianca

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,540 Views)

Bianca,

I am not sure if your attempt can be followed successfully; but I tried a similar aproach for another express VI. And I could not come to a satisfying solution. What I found and what was good enough for me was having a case structure with differently configured express VI setups inside the different cases. But this can work only if you know what different configurations you will need.