cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communication to Digital Dial Gauge

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello!

I hope you can help me finding a solution to my problem, accessing a digital dial gauge using Labview.

Following the instructions here  I was able to build the adapter and to get the measured values via the arduino sketch.

Now I want to access these data via LabView/Linx, to combine it with other data within Labview.

Unfortunately I am not experienced enough to "translate" the arduino sketch into a Linx/Labview code.

Could you please give me some hints how to solve this problem?

If I unterstand the program correctly two digital read and one digital write pin should be placed for establishing the communication.

Can I read the data sent by the digital dial gauge using the UART communication? Or is it necessary to recreate the whole sketch in Labview?

Thank you in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,081 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author th.st.

Hi th.st.

I assume that you are getting your readings to the PC using the Arduino IDE serial monitor. If that is true you really don't need LINX and probably don't need to change your sketch. Basically you will copy the setup from the serial monitor to LabVIEW (Baud rate, stop bits etc.) and read it directly into LabVIEW. Watch this excellent video presentation for details on how to properly do this. Just remember to shut off the serial monitor when reading the data from LabVIEW.  

Hope this helps

Now Using LabVIEW 2019SP1 and TestStand 2019
Message 2 of 6
(2,049 Views)

Hi GovBob,

thank you very much! That works perfectly fine!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,042 Views)

Hello GovBob,

perhaps you can help me with a problem I encountered while reading out the serial data from the Arduino serial monitor.

Sometimes the dial gauge seems to "produce" empty or falsely formatted value strings.

In this case just an empty string is shown.