Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

usb to serial converter

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I need to communicate my PC to a device with a serial port (rs232). Nevertheless, I haven't got an available serial port on my CPU, so I was thinking about using a USB to Serial Converter. However, I've never used one before. My question is whether these converters are ALWAYS bidirectional or some work only one way. if so, are there ANY bidirectional converters or if unidirectional, can they communicate from the PC to the device? Here's the thing, when I went to the store to get one, I was told it communicates only from the device to the PC and I need it the other way around. Since this is kind of urgent, I intend to use a converter that is NOT from National Instruments. However, the control software for the device is a VI.

Also, if I can use the converter to communicate data from the PC to the device, does LabView detect the port as a normal serial port or do I have to make my VI for controlling the usb port?

Thanks,

Ali

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,452 Views)
A normal USB to serial connection is like a plug in serial board. it simply adds a new serail device to your pc and you can use it like a comport as soon as the driver is installed.
greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,449 Views)

I have been using a Belkin F5U109 for several years. It was originally billed as a "PDA adapter", but it is a bi-directional USB to DB9 adapter. It works with everything that I have tried over the years, including the inordinately ornery Allen-Bradley series software. Heck, it even works with, wait for it, VISTA.

Hope this is of some help,,

Dave

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(4,449 Views)

I have never heard of one that is 'unidirectional'. What kind of store did you go to where they are selling such a thing?