From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

universal serial port communication, I have no idea

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi buddies! I am trying to think on how I can configure VI write a message on it and if possible to send it via USB to the USB device.

Please help me with ideas on how to make this possible as I am new to LabVIEW

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(8,875 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author precious1

Hi precious1, 

What USB device are you trying to use?  What is your application?  How are you looking to control the device?

As a first step, take a look at the following NI White Paper: USB Instrument Control Tutorial

It should help you configure your USB device for use within a LabVIEW VI.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(8,841 Views)

Hi

Nice article but I've already seen too much people to start with USB to instruments directly where the USB connection hides a simple serial bus.

This article should also warn to check this first before trying to do direct usb io.

greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(8,832 Views)

That's a good point Albert.  

precious1:

Often, a device's USB driver will create a virtual COM port which you can use to directly send/receive serial commands with with device.  Check in Measurement and Automation Explorer (NI MAX) to see if your device shows up as a serial port already.  If it does, then you can use that COM port with LabVIEW directly.

What is the device you are trying to use?  Knowing this will help us help you get started.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(8,808 Views)

Hi Kevin and Albert! Thanks for your concerns;

Wishkebab