Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pH-Measurement

Hello,

i'm a german student, using LabVIEW now, but at one point got stuck.

So, i'm using a PCI 6024e Card and a BNC 2120. LabVIEW Version, not sure, quite old, around 6.0 or 6.1 I guess.

Furthermore i got a pH-Sensor with an BNC connector-plug.

When i measure the voltage over that sensor, I get a relative high voltage and the voltage is permanent falling after some minutes.

Got someone an idea why the voltage isn't constant? Any idea what to check/improve?

I would also appreciate any advices of what hardware I could buy to get this project started.

Thanks

Regardful

G-rooon

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(6,683 Views)
The problem is the bnc plug. What comes out of it and how did you connect it to the iocard?
If you measure with a standard multimeter, do you see the same effect?
The input impedance of the iocardis very high but that does not explain this behaviour.
greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(6,674 Views)

The card is direcly connected to the BNC connection block.

The Analog-Input's of this connection block are the counterparts of that BNC plug, so that you can directly connect that pH-Sensor with that block.

The measurement with an DMM gives me a value of ca. 50mV. With that NI Hardware i get around 2V.

The only explanation i got, was that the impedance of that connection block is by far not that high as the impedance of an DMM.

greetings

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(6,665 Views)

If the parallel resistor on the block are switched off the impedance is higher than most dmm's.

And that proves the 2V to 50mV difference, but joking aside, I don't know what the output really is so is 50mV a correct value for the pH that you are measuring?

greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(6,659 Views)
Did you configure the acquisition for rse or differential?
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 11
(6,657 Views)