From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

instrument drivers for mecmesin and gaeltec instruments

Hi,

Im fairly new to labview, im attempting to use 8.2, and daq devices so appologies if some of these questions appear idiotic.
I need to acquire data from a mecmesin BFG 50N force gauge and a Gaeltec pressure catheter. Neither of these devices have NI drivers. I want to use these with a laptop, the two devices used rs232 connections, but to interface them with the laptop i am using USB serial converters.

I am unclear as to whether i should use the create instrument driver project wizard or whether i should use visa to create the driver i need. (I have looked at the tutorials on both and i am still confused).
I am also unclear as to whether the devices are USBTMC or USB RAW or if they are neither considering that they were not originally usb devices. How would i go about determining this?

I am not especially familiar with how rs232 works but I have access to a NI DAQ device (6251 M series). Would it be possible to aquire the data by hardwiring the correct pins from the rs232 connector into this? If so what do i need to do?

Thanks for reading, and appologies for being a complete labview dunce!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,066 Views)
Hi

The best you can do is to use VISA to get the rs232 communications going.
Init the serial port
Writing a string a command
reading a string, followed by interpreting it.

But start with the basic serial example look in help/find examples/hardware input output/serial/ basic serial write and read
greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(4,059 Views)