From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VISA Limitations : Number of Instruments / Type of GPIB Talker

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey Y'all,

I figured I'd bug the community to get some additional input. I am also going to apologize in advance, because this is going to be a jumbled rambling with no code attached.

Background:

I'm a test engineer in a lab that mostly plays with network analyzers and switches. Occasionally we have our DAQ's, DMM's, MUX's, and other goodies but our bread and butter are those network analyzers. We speak mostly GPIB (VISA) to them.

I've also inherited quite a bit of legacy code. Some started development in LV6. Most of the executables that we have to modify are coming from LV2014 though. When a program crashes and requires the exe to be modified, we're upgrading them to LV2017 in the process.

In the past, the lab mostly used Agilent Technologies 82357B USB/GPIB Interface. We started noticing that when upgrading to LV2017 for the exe's, the network analyzers would no longer communicate with them. It was a squirrely timeout issue where in the end we just decided "white = bad, blue = good" and swapped to NI GPIB-USB-HS on all of our "critical stations."

Then for kicks and giggles, I got my managers to purchase me a new toy of the GPIB-ENET/1000 for the places where we had a really long separation between equipment and computer. I also have a few GPIB-ENET/100 that we plan on re-purposing for a few test stations as well.

Oh, I should also mention half of our computers are Windows 7, the other half are Windows 10.

tl;dr: Our lab is hodgepodge'd together with whatever I can scavenge in order to speak GPIB.

Current Frustration: