Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB to RS232 Adapter: VISA Serial Write Works but VISA Serial Read Gets Timeout Error

Hey Everyone,

I am fairly new to LabVIEW so bare please bare with me. I am trying to receive data from a C0-08TD1 PLC that is connected to my PC via USB to RS232 adapter. The Baud Rate = 38400, parity = Odd, stop bit = 1, and data length = 8-bits (given to me when I connect the PLC to the CLICK PLC programming software). I am able to perform VISA serial write, however with VISA serial read I receive the " VISA: (Hex 0xBFFF0015) Timeout expired before operation was completed " error message. I learned this occurs by single stepping through the entire program. This appears to be the ONLY thing going wrong within the vi. 

Here is an image of where the Serial Read give me an error (one of my sub vi)

Serial_Command_VI.png

I have attached the main vi I am using, as well as the two sub vi inside of the main. So my two questions are: 

1. Is it possible for me to receive information from my PLC this way?

2. If so, what could I be doing wrong?

I would like to note that a majority of the content in these vi were created by an old coworker. He had it all up and running previously on his PC, and now I am trying to get it to work on my PC.

Thank you to everyone who read this post.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,698 Views)

Hi

I don't see any vi's attached, but I'm missing the serial initialize vi and what the message is that you are expecting.

Is it indeed 13 characters or less, is there and end character defined and used? (that is why I like to see the initialize)

Just some questions to be able to help.

greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,688 Views)

Albert.Geven

Thanks for replying to my post! I do not know why they didn't attach. Let me try attaching them to this post.