Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Timout error on simple VISA query in LabviewNXG 5 with HMC8043

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I'm very new to Labview and I'm working through various videos and training courses.  I believe I have LabviewNXG and NIVISA 20 installed correctly but I have found that a bit confusing.

I have 4 instruments connected through USB to my Windows 10 Pro laptop.  These appear as USBTMC devices.  In NI Max (and SystemDesigner) I can see these 4 devices and I can use the VISA test panel to send SCPI commands to each of them successfully.  The HMC4083 (PSU) does require a \n terminator on a command to work correctly, the other instruments do not.

In LabviewNXG I opened the VISA Simple Query.gvi example which can be used to send a SCPI command to a named test instrument.  This works for 3 of my test instruments without a problem.  The HMC8043 is sent a command (*IDN?\n) and I see a message pop up on the device's UI to tell me it has received it (the specific identification command.)  The read always results in a timeout error.

I have tried amending the Instrument profile in the .gvi project to set "Termchar EN" to true and use the TermChar (I don't know what to hook that too but it defaults to \n.)  I've pasted an image below.  This doesn't impact the other 3 instruments but the HMC8043 still has a timeout error on the read.

Screenshot 2020-06-15 at 15.46.53.png

Screenshot 2020-06-15 at 15.50.25.png

There is a white paper provided by Rohde & Schwarz which has this to say:

*Note4 - Termination Character '\n'

'\n' is a Linefeed (LF) termination character, hexadecimally represented as 0x0A. It serves as message termination character.