From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thermotron 7800 controller using USB/Serial connection

Hi this topic has been covered on here before a few years ago and i am a labview beginner and looking for a helping hand in the right direction

I am trying to control a Thermotron 7800 controller using a USB/Serial interface cable with a Labview program.

To try establish if i am connecting to the controller i am using in measurement and automation explorer and  devices and interfaces it recognises the USB/Serial connection as ASRL46:INSTR "COM46"

All the setting's match with the controllers setting but when i go to read or write in the I/O section, it just returns errors.

I have been told to cross pins 2 & 3 on the serial interface.

Has anyone worked on a similar project as this?

Also I have downloaded the relevant drivers from Thermotron.

Is there a list of what the commands are on the I/O section on the test panel?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,988 Views)
What are the actual errors you get and what do you write?

Whether or not you need to cross the wires (null modem connection) would be in your instrument manual.

The list of commands would be in the manual for your instrument.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(4,983 Views)

This controller is over 15 years old and i don't have the required 7800 computer interface manual,

The error i am receiving is a time out error.

There are sample VI's available for the project on here, but there is no connection so they aren't much good until i have the 2 pieces of equipment communicating