From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Testing connection to MD-CC4 USB RS422 for a mdrive stepper motor made by Schneider

I am new to LabView and I am trying to fix a script that hasn't worked in over a year at my university. I have a stepper motor that I would like to control via LabView. The LabView version I have is LabView 2013. The stepper motor is an mdrive 23 motor driver plus made by Schneider. I was able to successfully establish a communication with the IMS Terminal that came equipped with the motor via a MD-CC4 USB to RS422 Comm Converter. However, I am having trouble establishing communication with LabView via the same USB.

I am using the following two links as references: link 1 and link2

I went to MAX and was able to see the communication link ASRL[board][::INSTR] (which is shown in the screenshots attached below which in this case it is COM6) however I don't see any option where for the Open VISA Test Panel. Thus, I am unable to test the communication and not sure how to proceed? I am using LabView 2013, any suggestions or help will be extremely appreciated. The script worked over a year ago but I was tasked to fix it and not sure what my next steps are.

I have attached my VI and screenshots of the MAX terminal that I have. Also, I am unable to find the NI-VISA app, is that app necessary?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(1,920 Views)

Hi

I assume you did not write this vi.

All those cases and especially the sequence structure should not be necessary.

Please write down what the vi needs to do and add the missing part highprec6.vi.