From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read trace data from spectrum analyser using NI-VISA in Excel 2010

I am trying to update a trace-capture function into Excel 2010 (VBA7) and am fairly close... I can find and connect to the instrument and query to get string results. But can't seem to get a nice implementation that replaces the old ilrdi function from NI-488.  I am using a reasonably up-to-date set of NI-VISA drivers (5.3?) as I am also developing code in VS2012 - I can't even confirm whether these are compatible with VBA7.  Please be patient, I started coding in the days of DOS and last updated the code using VB6 and NI-GPIB488 - the world has changed since then!  I had effectively the same problem with NI-488.2 where I couldn't work out how to use the 488.2 function to read the results directly into an array...

In my mind I guess that something like:

Dim sglYData() as Single

sglYData = ...ReadNumber()

but I can't seem to crack it.

My code snippets are shown below:

This works to read the data in as a string which I then have to decode byte-by-byte and is not elegant.  I would rather read straight into an array of real (Single) numbers as you used to be able to do with using sglYdata()=ildri(....).

If gErr = False Then gErr = Eqpt_Write("FORM REAL,32;FORM:BORD SWAP", VGb)
        If gErr = False Then gErr = Eqpt_Write("TRACE:DATA? TRACE1", VGb)
        'Read the number of bytes point
        'strResult = Eqpt_Read(2, VGb)
        If gErr = False Then iDigits = Val(Mid(Eqpt_Read(2, VGb), 2, 1))
        'Get the total number of bytes
        If gErr = False Then lngTraceBytes = Val(Eqpt_Read(iDigits, VGb))