Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read real time (pressure) data from CPC6000 and plot on graph using GPIB

Hi, 
I'm trying to read real time pressure data from a Mensor CPC6000 in LabView using GPIB. 

I've tried a basic program using LabView VIs 'GPIB Write' and 'GPIB Read' The CPC has two channels and I would like to plot the pressure readings specifically onto a chart. Manual of CPC shows a range of commands, but as I'm new to this level of labview programming, I'm not sure how they are used.

See preliminary circuit. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,911 Views)

The first thing to know is what interface you will be using to communicate with this instrument.  You will need to enter the proper commands for that interface

• GPIB (uses the ADDRESS command)
  • TCP (uses the GATEWAY, IP, NETMASK, and PORT commands)
  • Serial (uses the SBAUD, SDATA, SPARITY, and SSTOP commands)

A simple "ID?" at this point should confirm proper communications with the instrument when it responds (See manual for expected response). 

The next thing to do would be to configure each channel for how you want to acquire the pressure on that channel. 

Now you can begin to acquire pressure by checking that "AS?" responds with "YES" otherwise continue to wait before reading "A?" then continue over and perform the same for the other channel with the "BS?" and "B?" commands before repeating the process and plotting the given results.

Help the Community (and future reviewers) by marking posts as follows:
If it helped - KUDOS
If it answers the issue - SOLUTION
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,891 Views)

Hi,

Thank you. I've managed to call the pressure values fro both channels using the "A?" and "B?" commands.
To answer your question, Instrument is connected to PC via GPIB (instrument) to USB (PC side).

I've attached block and front panel and block diagram.