From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RS485 pump control via Labview

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I have a system with a pump whose control interface is RS485 db15 (2 wires). I have connected a USB to RS485 adapter, which I plugged into my computer (see attached picture).
I want to be able to control the start and stop of my pump with Labview.
Do I have to use the Modbus protocol or can I use VISA directly? How do I go about it? I am new to Labview.
Thank you in advance for your answers.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 26
(1,994 Views)

If it is true RS485, you don't need Modbus, you can use the VISA functions to communicate.

This is an excellent tutorial - https://labviewwiki.org/wiki/VIWeek_2020/Proper_way_to_communicate_over_serial

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
Message 2 of 26
(1,964 Views)

You should probably also wire the ground (GND) connection. If the USB converter is not galvanically isolated there is however a change of a ground loop that way but that depends entirely on how your computer and pump are grounded to earth if at all.

But without ground connection the differential output is usually floating and then you get an unreliable communication due to limited common mode voltage rejection.