Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems sending I-Q data to Agilent ESG over GPIB

I am fairly new to Labview and need some help...

I am trying to use an Agilent E3644B ESG to generate a signal from I-Q data arrays.  I am having trouble getting the ESG to accept the I-Q data that I try to download to it. 

The ESG manual calls for unsigned, offset (binary) format.  Each data point have to be a 2-byte integer (each data point uses 14 bits or 2 bytes, with 2 bits unused, and have a value of 0 (negative ESG full scale output) to 16383 (positive ESG full scale output).  The ESG needs a minumum of 16 points (32 bytes of data) to play the waveform.  The I and Q arrays are sent separately.

I keep getting either of these two errors at the ESG:
1)  invalid block data
and
2)  invalid separator

I believe the problem is caused by converting the I or Q byte arrays to strings when writing to the GPIB Write function.  I am thinking the data is being changed during the conversion.  Does anybody know what exactly needs to be done before sending the data to the GPIB Write vi?
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,050 Views)
Would you mind posting your code, or at least the part that deals with the conversion?  The code will answer most of the questions I have.

Thanks,
Robert Mortensen
Software Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(4,020 Views)
Here is the program.  I-Q data is simulated by creating two arrays of random data and then scaled to be between 0 and 16383, as called for by the ESG manual.   You can also manually input the I-Q data as a string in the VISA Write command.  The ESG model is E4436B, not E3644B...sorry about the typo.
Message 3 of 8
(4,020 Views)