From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New guy here with HP8566 and GPIB-USB-HS

Hi all - I'm new to NI and GPIB to USB adapters.  I have the GPIB-USB-US from NI and an old HP8566 spectrum analyzer.  I also have Measurement and automation explorer installed on my PC, and I'm trying to figure out how to do a few things:

1. configure the SA settings from the PC: start/stop freq, res BW, ref level, etc.

2. Once a sweep is completed, is it possible to get the data from the 8566 to my PC?

I'm a relatively experienced HW guy, but an absolute newb at running NI software and talking to my instruments through them.

Are there some basic tutorials I can read through somewhere?

Thanks!

Geoff

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,100 Views)

@gdgross wrote:

2. Once a sweep is completed, is it possible to get the data from the 8566 to my PC?

Depends on if there is a command for doing this.

You'll need to get the programming manual which is also required for #1.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,063 Views)

Well I found a free program for grabbing the screen plot over the GPIB-USB bridge, and it seems to work great for the plot.  Now I just need to figure out if it's possible to get the actual data.  (I'm not 100% these old machines actually digitize their waveforms...)

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,052 Views)

Keysight (previosly HP and Agilent) has a lot of information about HP8566. It is scanned documents in PDF-format, so to look up in the manuals you have to go back to the time when we just had printed manuals without search possibilities 🙂