Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labivew program for KE6487 picoammeter

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I have limited knowledge about labview and have been trying to learn labview through online help and youtube videoes. Now my professor requires me to make a VI that will measure current-voltage (IV Characteristic of a transistor) using Keithley 6487 picoammeter. Unfortunately I have been unable to find any good help/assistance regarding this. 

My questions are:

1. How will I go about making this program?? (Honestly I have no idea)

2. I have to communicate with instrument through GPIB. I don't know how to program this?

It seems like i am asking you guys to make VI for me but that is not the case I just need proper direction where I can consult and learn while making the program. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(10,459 Views)

Hi HamzaZG,

good start is to visit Keithley webpage , install Keithley IO Layer and drivers . After that you will see a palette in LV and you can try to use LV example from keithley webpage.

Best regards,

CaravagGIO

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(10,441 Views)

Don't follow the advice to install the keithley IO-layers.

It will add a lot of software and you get more lost than just staying within LabVIEW

Added is a small begin for a LabVIEW based instrumentdriver for the 6485 but this should be compatible....with the 6487.

Furthermore starting to develop a big program in LabVIEW without starting small is very difficult. As is all programming in a new environment.

NI makes you beleive it is easy, and that is true, but only for small programs.

So start small and learn how to go on by growing.

greetings from the Netherlands
Message 3 of 19
(10,434 Views)

Guys thank you for providing the link for KE6485/6487 IO layers .. 

I know making such a big problem will not be a easy task by any means but I have to do it.