Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inst. won't respond to 'read' commands

I have a Coherent Labmaster power meter that responds correctly to 'write' and 'read' commands when run from the PC on my desk, but when I try it on a newer pc in the lab (using the same cable and same power meter) the instrument will not respond to 'read' commands.

On my desktop machine I can query *IDN? (in MAX) and get a good response. In the lab *IDN? times out.

In the lab only 'write' commands work. Any suggestions?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,453 Views)

GPIB or Serial communication?

I expect GPIB and maybe the card is simply too fast for the machine. Try to see the properties of the gpib card in max.

greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,442 Views)
When I use RS232 it works fine on both machines. The machine it doesn't work on is 3 or 4 years newer than my desktop machine. I'll check the specs on both. Thanks for the reply.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,434 Views)

Here's what I have:

desktop: Intel Pentium 4,               2.4 GHz, 3.25 GB RAM

lab:         Intel Core 2 DUo E6850, 3.0 GHz, 3.48 GB RAM

The GPIB bus timing is set to 500 nsec, but I tried all the options and it didn't help.  The choices are 2 usec, 500 nsec, 350 nsec.

I have my application running fine with RS232 but I'd like to know what's wrong with the GPIB on this system. I even swapped cards and had the same problem. In addition, I have another similar pc in the lab and it behaves the same, ie it doesn't respond to read commands.

In searching the web I found a reference to "bus mastering" but that didn't lead to a solution.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(3,429 Views)

Also try 2 microseconds. The machine is anyhow slow.

And try also to switch autopolling to off.

sorry I don't have a real good idea.