Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IVI Drivers...Pros and Cons?

Solved!
Go to solution

I've been using LabVIEW for 3 years now and I'm digging into the NI supplied IVI Drivers for the 2nd time now.  My goal is to get and use canned drivers that fully support my instruments to save test software development time.  IVI drivers claim to be that solution.

So I'm starting with a simple Keysight 34465 benchtop multi meter.  I've coded my own drivers for stuff like this before so I know the SCPI commands and such.  I write very lean and simple drivers that run fast.

When I look under the covers of what makes this thing go is how very complicated this driver actually is!  LabVIEW is not a fast environment but with all this stuff going on underneath, how fast can this thing actually run, and its really just a wrapper for SCPI commands.

I'm trying to get a handle on just how useful these driver actually are, do they actually save development time, and are they actually widely used?  

Thanks!

-John C.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,219 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author JohnCookInfineon

I'm personally not a fan of the NI drivers.  As you stated, they tend to be overly complicated and still don't quite do what I want.  I just write my own with only the details I need.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,201 Views)

You're the second person to say that.  I have a peer here who has done lots more LabVIEW than me who rolls his own simple, specific drivers for his projects.

I was just really hoping that I could get something to save me time and have a common way to do things.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(1,164 Views)