Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error Hex 0xBFFF0015 in NI MAX - Using Laser Scan Micrometer

Solved!
Go to solution

I am fairly new to using LabVIEW and very new to using LabVIEW for instrument control.

I am currently trying to use LabVIEW to control a Laser Scan Micrometer (Mitutoyo LSM 6200 + LSM 501S) and I have been unable to communicate with the LSM properly at all.

I have the LSM hooked up via RS232-USB crossover connection, and it is showing up in MAX as COM4. From there, both the port and the LSM are set to have 9600 Baud Rate and 8N1 Frame with no parity or flow control. 

Anytime I send a Write command in VISA test panel, I get some return bytes, but whenever I Query or Read anything I get Error 0xBFFF0015. 

The same thing happens on a couple of other instruments I am working with, but I do not yet have the correct cables for those.

I am inclined to believe the error is with the syntax and which I am sending commands. Attached is the manual for the LSM. 

http://manualmachine.com/mitutoyo/lsm-6200/670042-user-manual/page:8/

The portion on RS232 commands begin in section 6.2.1.4 which is in page 

My termination character is set (both on labview and the LSM) to be a carriage return. This is CR in the LSM, and 0xD in LabVIEW (according to setup in MAX)

I have tried commands such as 'R' and 'STAT' and more followed by 0xD, xD, CR, \r, \n\r, and nothing I do ever gives me anything besides some return bits and that error. 

Am I communicating improperly? What Should I do?

Thanks for your time.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,108 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author MKandPL