From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Custom made Robotic Arm serial interface with Pic microcontroller

Hello Everyone... I am new to labview and This is my first time posting in the labview forum. So Here's the question. I Have a custom made robotic arm with 6 dof using servo motors and need to impliment inverse kinematics on it. I have been looking around and found this http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/10687 I m really impressed by the simplicity of it. I can build a model for my robotic arm and then do as stated on the page for inverse kinematics. The problem arises in the interface. I have never interfaced through serial port ever before and dnt know how to do it in labview. Parallel port is kind of easy compared to serial cause we directly send signals to each servo motor. Question 1 What blocks are we going to use to interface servo motor with the serial port. Question 2 What kind of programming will we do in the microcontroller so that it recieves and understand the signals sent by the serial port. Thanks
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,419 Views)

Hi Warlox,

Can you tell me a little bit more about what you are communicating back and forth between? Are you trying to send serial commands directly to the motor or to a designated microcontroller? What kind of microcontroller are you using?

In case your interested in learning more about serial, here is a brief overview of serial communiation:

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/2895

A great place to start with serial programming in LabVIEW is from our example programs. You can find these in the LabVIEW Example Finder (Open LabVIEW, choose Help >> Find Examples).

Regards,

Andrew M.