Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting Keithley Sourcemeter 2400 with computer to measure Resistance

Hi guys, I have a keithley sourcemeter 2400. I want to connect it to my computer to measure resistance for each 5 min interval. I want the output of it to be saved in either .txt format or any other readable format. Can anyone tell me in detailed regarding how to do it? P.S. I am new to sourcemeter and labview. Therefore, I don't have any knowledge regarding the both. Thanks in advance.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(9,264 Views)

What driver did you download, which hardware bus are you using?

You can read Voltage and Current when measuring.

Did you use 4 wires to connect?

What did you try yourself?

greetings from the Netherlands
Message 2 of 10
(9,255 Views)

I haven't downloaded anything yet. Planning to use Labview and RS232 port. I have no knowledge regarding the connection. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(9,248 Views)

make sure you use a straight cable (not a null modem cable)

A usb- to serial from ftdichip is also OK

download the labview driver from instrument drivers.net

http://search.ni.com/nisearch/app/main/p/ap/tech/lang/nl/pg/1/sn/ssnav:idr/

an test an example

Message 4 of 10
(9,246 Views)

Can you help me? I have almost the same problem. My teacher told me to work with 2400 SourceMeter and with 2182A Nanovoltmeter, and I never worked with anything like these. I googled everything that I found necessary. I installed LabView 17, NI Max, NI Visa, NI488.2 3.1.2, in my windows 7. Conecting 2400 SourceMeter and 2182A Nanovoltmeter with RS232-USB in my computer installed the drive automatically. After all these, when I open NI Max, it still not recognizing 2400 SourceMeter and 2182A Nanovoltmeter and I don't know what can I do.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10
(7,847 Views)