Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Compressed air humidifier control equipment help?

Hello all!

First off, I apologize if this is in the wrong forum board. I'm not too sure where it belongs.

I'm a recent college graduate Mechanical Engineer with very limited Labview experience - mostly controls class lab with pre set up systems and very simple vi programming.

At the company I now work for I've been tasked with building a compressed air Humidifier and Heater unit to test our product under harsh real world type conditions. I've been given a fairly good budget, though it will need to cover operating hardware as well as the control hardware (I should already have the Labview licenses I need). Since I realize I have just enough Labview experience to make me grossly overconfident in my abilities and to get me in a mess, I'm hoping I can come to these boards for a lot of advice over the next several weeks. Though I'm going to have to figure out the programming later, right now I'm trying to select hardware.

A brief description of the system: It’s going to be a portable pressure, temperature, humidity, and liquid water flow control system. Compressed air will enter the system and flow through piping where warm liquid water will be injected. The air and water will be heated in the piping and the water should evaporate. They’ll enter a coalescing filter chamber where any remaining liquid water should be absorbed. The coalescing filter will act like a “wet rag” and allow some of the absorbed water to evaporate and humidify the air. It will also prevent any liquid water from continuing through the system. (so the amount of liquid water that is injected can be accurately controlled)