From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

California Inst. drivers

What is the best way to go about getting/building a driver for a California Instruments AC Power Source

Manufacturer: California
Instrument Type: Power Source
Model No: PSeries (1001P)
Developement Environment: labVIEW 7.0
Technology: ?
Interface: Serial RS232

Anybody who may have these drivers or advice pointing me in the right direction please let me know. I am new to labview so any help will be great. Thanks in advance.

Also I have already searched for the driver within NI with no luck. So I may have to build it, which right now seems like an overwelming task for a beginner?!?
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,751 Views)
I did a search and found one this one. It's poorly written, doesn't use VISA, and has some very ugly front panels but it's a starting point. The first thing to do with this is to convert it to VISA so that you can use it with RS-232. That's not that hard to do. Replace the GPIB Send/Receive Messages in CIC_WRT and CIC_W_R.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,740 Views)
Thats not the instrument I am looking for.

http://www.calinst.com/pseries.html

This instrument is simple; only 5 controls.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,732 Views)
And the fact that I said it was a starting point was worth 1 star? With only 5 controls (a fact I was not aware from your original post), it shouldn't take you more than an hour or two to write the driver on your own.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(3,727 Views)