Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CMU200 remote control over usb to rs232

Hello everyone,

I'm new to working with this kind of device and i have troubles just setting a simple serial link between my computer and the CMU200. I'm using a usb to serial cable in order to perform remote control. I currently use Debian Jessi as it is a constraint of my project and can't use windows to perform my task. My problem is that i tried communicating with the CMU200 using putty and when the connection opens i just got nothing. The putty terminal stays black and the CMU200 seems to receive nothing as the remote control is not triggered. I don't really know where it could come from, i've seen in my search that it coulb be a problem with the quality of the cable i'm using but i was wondering if anyone had a similar problem or if not, a recommended usb to serial cable.

Best regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(4,766 Views)

A real simple test to determine of your RS-232 serial wiring is working is to short the TX and RX wires together at the end of the cable and see if your commands are echoed back on your terminal as received data.  This does not ensure that your port configurations are correct for communicating with the end device - only that the cabling will work at the current setting.  Next, verify your port settings on the end equipment then configure your USB-Serial port on your terminal for those settings.

Help the Community (and future reviewers) by marking posts as follows:
If it helped - KUDOS
If it answers the issue - SOLUTION
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(4,735 Views)

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

The problem is I have no way of doing what you suggest my options are really limited due to what I have at my disposal. I'm not able to rewire the cable to test it that way. I'm gonna try another cable with Tx and Rx led testifiers but I have to wait to get it 😞

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(4,729 Views)