Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Agilent OSA Data Acquisition - Where to begin?

I'm new to LabView and have been learning it for the past little while. I am attempting to communicate with an Agilent 86142A OSA with a GPIB-USB-HS cable. I think I've downloaded all of the necessary drivers (e.g. 488.2).

I've also acquired a Plug-and-Play driver from Agilent to be used by 8614x devices. These Instrument Drivers came with three examples. I connected to the device via MAX (that is, it sees the device).

A few questions:

1) Running these examples, for whatever reason, does not work. I continously receive a "Could not perform operation because of I/O error.; " error. I noticed that in the VI, the address is set to 23. Now my instrument PAD is 22, so I wanted to change this address in the VI. I tried doing so by clicking on the AG8614X node in the VI, but after running the program the address changes back to 23. Due to this, I decided to try changing the GPIB address of my machine; I changed it to 23 to be compatible with what the VI wants. Now running the program simply stops it immediately. I've attached this file to this post.

2) I've tried using Instrument I/O Assistant also. My question regarding the Assistant is this: can I only input single commands into the command windows or can I copy/paste large code/programs written in my hardware manual? Also, is all of the code that the I/O Assistant simply the code documented in the programming guides of my hardware (e.g. "SENDMESSAGE INIT;*OPC?") ? Excuse the naive question, but I simply want to know if I'm on the right page here.