From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

modbus tcp

Hi All,

I am currently working on establishing modbus TCP connectivity between my third party modbus client and labview server. I am using labview 13 and installed the NI modbus library. I am new to labview and searched for examples and got the MB Ethernet example slave.vi . I have questions on this vi.

1. How the slave init(poly).vi works? and how to initialize the registers and coils in the register manager.vi? where are these stored and how to identify the address of the coils and registers?

2. How the ethernet demon.vi works? is it updating the tables by the commands from master, how? as i could not go inside the Invoke RUN and see the code.

3. In the event structure, can you explain how the following work in this VI

a. [0] read all coils, read all holding registers

b. [1] write input registers

c. [2] write discrete inputs

overall just curious about how the data transfer is been happening between master and slave using the above icons in this VI.

Thanks in advance

sridhar

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(7,230 Views)

Hi Sridhar,

Which Modbus library are you referring to?

Modbus Library for LabVIEW

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/epd/p/id/4756

If you are using this one, I would recommend using the new and improved API instead:

Modbus API for LabVIEW

https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-30140

Please direct questions on the new API to this forum:

https://decibel.ni.com/content/thread/17712

Good luck!

Joey S.
Senior Product Manager, Software
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(7,222 Views)

Joey is right about using the new forum, the main developers monitor that thread.