Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replacing PCI-DNET with PCI-8532. First time very frustrated with NI support.

I'm new with DeviceNet for Labview.

Where do I start?

How to configure DeviceNet task in NI MAX?

Is any training available?

Why don't you have any phone support for this line of your product?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(6,739 Views)

Hi anekhoda, 

Sorry to hear you are having issues, the devicenet line is specialized so you may be re-directed here just to get in contact with someone who knows the product. 

1) Start with the PCI shipping examples. and the "Product Overview and How to Use the Software" article of the devicenet help.  

2) Unlike the older DNet cards, there is no configuration needed in max 

3) What type of training do you need? Specifics on the devicenet protocol? A brief overview is given in the help under "DeviceNet Fundamentals" 

The simple way to approach Devicenet is to think of it as CIP over CAN, this article give a good overview of how the different CIP protocols are related.  If you are familiar with either CIP or CAN it should make things much easier. If you aren't familiar with either, read about the CIP addressing scheme and for CAN just worry about understanding the physical requirements for the network (eg termination). 

Although we do have good getting started guides for the cRIO, I think the PCI card is lacking in material. Basically, you should just need to install it, make sure you can see it in MAX, then run the examples. I will post back a rough draft of a tutorial with screen shots to this thread. 

Jesse Dennis
Engineer
INTP
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(6,724 Views)
I have to read sensors and control air solenoid on DeviceNet. How do I address those sensors and actuators?
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(6,719 Views)

How long does it take to get resolution from NI?

Can anyone escalate this ticket?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(6,693 Views)

Hi anekhoda,