Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting started: EtherNet/IP with an Endress+Hauser Promass 100

Hello,

I am a Certified LabVIEW Developer but I have no prior experience with EtherNet/IP. A customer has asked us to integrate a flow meter into their application, which communicates with EtherNet/IP.

Here's what I've done so far:

1. Connect to the flow meter and check its readings using its web interface
  2. Read the flow meter's operating instructions
  3. Install NI-Industrial Communications for EtherNet/IP 14.0
  4. Run an example that came with #3 (Access Assembly Instance Data (Explicit).vi)

The example runs and I seem to be getting bytes from of the device, but I don't know how to decipher them. I didn't find anything about Assembly Instances in the operator's manual. I see another example (Write and Read Tag.vi) but I can't figure out where to find the device tags.

In short, I'm lost. Would a kind soul please point me in the right direction? Some advice on where to look and what to look for would be greatly appreciated.

If it makes a difference, I've attached the device's EDS file, and can verify that the device is an RSLogix 5000 device (which the Write and Read Tag.vi example requires)

Thanks in advance!

Certified LabVIEW Developer
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(10,138 Views)

Sorry, I simply had to RTFM.

I could've sworn I scoured the manual yesterday, but couldn't find the relevant info. This morning, the info was there, clear as day.

Thanks for reading, and sorry for wasting anybody's time.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(10,130 Views)

Hi JKSH,

Thanks for letting us know that you have resolved the issue. Happy coding!

Andrew

Andrew T.
"His job is to shed light, and not to master" - Robert Hunter
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 20
(10,119 Views)

Hello JKSH,