cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beckhoff EK1100 - Newbie

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

this is my first try to use a Beckhoff EtherCat Coppler EK1100 with an PC and LabView! So sorry for my stupid Questions 😄

I have a Beckhoff EK1100 EtherCat Coppler with 2 EL3008 Moduls. I want to read the Values from the Channels with an Cycle Time of 1second in LabView. I use LabView 2010SP1 and Win7. I have installed the EtherCat Driver from NI. I like to use the Connection with the NET. Its looks easiere than the Dll Version 😄

In the TwinCat Software I create a new config for the Coppler. There i can read the Values of the Channels. I also create a new Task where i have , for testing purpose, add 2 Variables.

Now i try to read the Values in LabView. And there is my problem. The Code samples for the Beckhoff Webside doesn't work (sample). I change the Port, i also change the Address of the Groups and Offset to the Values shown in the TwinCat Software. But i always get a "TwinCAT.Ads.AdsErrorException".

Now i try to create a new LabView Project with a new Hardware like in this tutorial ( Beckhoff EK1100 with LabView ).

I can create this configuration, but it is alway offline. I enter a valid IP-Address, but i cant conect to the EK1100 but i cant scan the Device or go online with this.

How can i read this variables in LabView? I could be so complicated, but i have no idea how i have to start. Maybe somebody can give me a hint or a link to a tutorial or maybe a working code sample.

Thx for your help

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(17,154 Views)

Hi 4711, 

Do you have an real-time target hooked up? The NI ethercat driver only runs on RT. If you were using twincat you would connect directly to the 1100, with LV you cannot. 

However, you should be able to call the twincat ADS api from labview. There are examples here that might help: http://infosys.beckhoff.com/italiano.php?content=../content/1040/TcAdsComLib/HTML/TcAdsComLib_Intro....