IF-RIO

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5640R Output clock offset between two DACs

Hello everyone,

I'm a grad student at the University of Illinois, and I am trying to get both DACs and both ADCs for the 5640R in sync to do some testing on a single sideband mixer. I already have the ADCs working in sync thanks to the post at:

http://forums.ni.com/ni/board/message?message.uid=474382

but I cannot find any information on how to sync up the DACs correctly. Both DACs will output data correctly on their own (i.e. the I/Q data for DAC0 is good, and the I/Q data for DAC1 is good), but every time I run the VI, I seem to get a random phase offset between the two DACs (Shown in the images below).

For the attached images, I hooked the output of DAC0 to ADC0, and the output of DAC1 to ADC1. Then I put a single tone out on each DAC (The data fed into each DAC FIFO is synchronized). The graphs show the I-Channel of ADC0 vs the I-Channel of ADC1. Because the ADCs are synchronized, if the DACs were correctly synchronized I would get a straight line along the x=y axis. However, every time I run the VI, I get a different oval in the Chan0 vs Chan1 graphs shown, indicating a different phase offset. If anybody could provide some insight as to how I can sync up the DACs, that would be very helpful!

I've attached the project in the zip file. Please disregard the OFDM code - to do testing, I'm using some known OFDM symbols read from a file as inputs to my chip, and the ADC outputs will be spit out to a file and post-processed.

Thanks,

Richard Tseng

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(8,833 Views)

Hi Richard,