High-Speed Digitizers

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make a continuous acquisition with a very high sampling rate (with NI SCOPE)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I'm new with Labview and I need your Help!

Indeed, I start a project that requires a continuous acquisition with a very high sample rate.I have a NI PCI-5124 scope card.

I found an example that corresponds to my needs, that is the "niscope EX Stream to Disk" example, a trigger is set to software and is never sent to ensure continuous acquisition. The "fetch relative to" is set to the "Read Pointer" and the loop is used to retrieve the data and transfer it to a given destination on the disk continuously.

The problem is that the transfer speed is low in front of the acquisition speed when I switch to a sample rate in the order of 10 MS/s or more and the data is overwritten before they are saved, an error is given and program stooped ...Do you now how to solve that ? 

For more information: our application (fiber optic sensors) will need a data rate of about 2 GS/s in continuous acquisition but before buying a more powerful card, we should validate the choice of Labview with the card we have (NI PCI-5124) with a data rate max of 200 MS/s ....

Thank you in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(7,568 Views)

Hello Ali_K,

I succeed to run the "niscope EX Stream to Dis" with a sample rate of 200 MS/s.

What do you mean about transfer speed ?

I am waiting for your answer.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(7,521 Views)

Hello Cdkey !

Actually from a data rate of 40 GS/s or higher I get this error "L'erreur -1074118632 s'est produite à : niScope Fetch Binary 16.vi:640001" 

With this explanation : " Les données demandées ont été écrasées en mémoire et ne peuvent donc plus être obtenues par une opération Fetch.

Code de l'état : -200004'' winch means : "The requested data has been overwritten in memory and can no longer be obtained by a Fetch operation"