From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

High-Speed Digitizers

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Acquire chirp(5421) delay and generate acquired chirp(5122)

Hi ,

I'm new to labview ( I just completed core 1 core 2 is in few weeks )

However, I'm having difficulty wrappng my head around an acuisition/delay/generate problem and where to start.

I have a PXI system with a 5421 and 5122.

I need to capture a chirp ( length defined by user input ( limited to appro 15msec), delay by 30 to 200msec from the start ( triggered) of acquisition ( defined by user input) and generate the captured signal on the AWG.

What's the best way to tackle this ?  do I export the trigger , through a delay, the 5122 ?

I need the gui to be somewhat responsive, and I don't want to monopolized the CPU ( although with 4 cores would it matter if a single thread cused 100% of one core ?) but the delay time must be consistant/repeatable over multiple acquisitin/delay/generate cycles.  I would imagine that the waveform must be held in memory/buffer as any disk I/O could exceed the delay ?

This should be relatively simple, ?  but I'm stuck at the beginning wondering what the best approach is.  I've read every example I can find, but ... there are some subtleties I'm missing.

any nudge/help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Gary

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 26
(7,611 Views)

Hey Gary,

Congratulations on completing Core 1 & 2! 

First, if you need the UI to be responsive, you should read the knowledgebase article How Many Threads does LabVIEW Allocate?  It has some great information on multithreading.