Git User Group

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How quickly will a repository become 'too big' due to LV binary files?

Hello Folks,

I am considering using a DCVS tool and have been researching Git mostly and also Mercurial. I am still very new to understanding the DCVS concepts and haven't started using them with LabVIEW yet, so please bear with me.

For either program, I am concerned about the entire file version history being stored locally and getting too big because LabVIEW files are binary. There are lots of discussions online about potential issues with storing large binary files (like an image or a dataset), but not a lot of information about progression of a typical LabVIEW project and how soon the entire set of files gets 'too big'.

Are you finding that the entire file history of a LabVIEW project does become cumbersomely large on disk due to the binary file size? Is it best to use for smaller projects or to always separate work into smaller projects? How would shared use of a reuse library be incorporated if projects should be kept small/separate? Any tips/experiences would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Kristen

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(10,478 Views)

Kristen,

I have no issues using Git with respect to the repository storage.  Frankly, hard drive space is cheap and this should not be a reason to not use a VCS.  These discussions online need to be put into perspective as well.  A lot of these discussions are for much older versions of the VCS's.

As you know, LabVIEW uses binary files, and there is no way around this.  With Subversion, you know your local repo will take up the same amount of space (roughly) as your code.  That will never change.  You will have to be constantly connected to your svn server, though.  For me, that's a problem.