GDS(Goop Development Suite)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Goop Example Code?

I have been creating classes and coding "labview native style" for a few years now, but this GOOP stuff has me completely overwhelmed.  My problem is that I am an electrical engineer and not a computer scientist.

I really want to separate my user interface from my application processes (like in Jorgen's tutorial white paper found at the NI site)  and I really want the power of using references to objects without having to pass the whole object around.

So what I need is some actual working code (Like the counter example in the Active Object video) that I can use to get the big picture.  It would be nice if the installation came with some example code from the tutorials and the videos.. 

Does anyone have any links to good code examples made with GOOP?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(12,576 Views)

Overwhelmed by GOOP? Relax and take a look at http://jki.net/state-machine-objects!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(11,591 Views)

Thank you Whitenoiz:

But I do not think this is what I am looking for at all.  I am quite experienced at creating state machines in LV.

What draws me to GOOP is the ability to easily access objects by reference rather than passing the entire object around.  I like the object creation tools so far, and I want to be able to more easily separate my UI from the application code.  (this is what I really want an example of, where the UI is NOT the main vi but is a subvi and stands alone.

One question i have is if creating user events, labview style is still the best method of passing events, commands, and parameters to GOOP objects or is there a better method.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(11,591 Views)

argolds wrote:

Thank you Whitenoiz:

But I do not think this is what I am looking for at all.  I am quite experienced at creating state machines in LV.