FieldPoint Family

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cFP rs 232 an 485 ports, modbus and OPC

Hello everyone:

As a general background, my University has 5 cFP systems with the cFP 2020 and several I/O modules (thermocouple, RTD, anlalog output, RLY output, PWM etc.). We also have a departamental LabVIEW 8.0 licence, which doesn't have the RT module; but also we have the departamental LabVIEW 7.1 licence, which has the RTDSC modules.

I have to prepare a lab practice for a Serial-port short course in my University. I think that showing a  cFP 2020 talking to or controlling  S7-200 or S7-300 (SIEMENS) PLCs should be a good idea, since our labs have both technologies. NOTE, the S7 200 and 300 are old PLCs bought aroung 2005.

Another idea is to control an Analog output module or a Relay output module of our cFP systems using the RS 232 an RS 485 ports of the cFP 2020.

Unfortunately, I am just a beginner in all the technical areas involved in such ideas.That's why I am kindly asking you the following:

1- Can I control de cFP 2020, and any I/O module connected to it, through its rs 485 or its rs 232 ports?

2- Or  are these ports intended  to be something like DTEs (using RS 232 terminology), so they are used, exclusively, to control external devices?

3- If the answer to the first question is YES, then Is it possible to control programmaticaly cFP modules (such as analog input, analog output, RLY , etc.) through the RS 232 or the RS     485 ports on the cFP 2020? How can I do it?

Is there any LabVIEW VI that you may provide me to perform such control? Which cabling (connection interface) is necessary to have the right electrical connections in this case?