FieldPoint Family

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading a TTL Pulse with a cFP-CTR-502

First off I'm a Labview newbie...

That said, I built this super basic VI that reads a pulse and displays the frequency.  The problem I have is that the Stanford Box I was using was giving me a -5V to +5V pulse.  When I hook this up to our TTL generating devices that send me 0-5V it can't see them.  Is there a way I can keep the simplicity of my VI and do this?

I have tried many of the sample VI's that claim to do this but I have trouble making them work.  In fact I have had a lot of problems with older sample VI's.  I think the old Fieldpoint Explorer era VI's just don't play nice with Labview 8.5 and Fieldpoint 6.0.

Any help would be appreciated.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(7,157 Views)

I would suggest recreating your timed sequence structure.  (And is it necessary?)

Looking at it, I thought it was odd that the processor node showed up twice on the left hand side.  If I edited by the dialog box, both values changed accordingly.  When I tried to expand the right hand side nodes, it cause my Labview to crash with a drawmgr2.cpp error.

EDIT:  On further experimentation, the crash seems to occur when I expand that node and it overlaps the for-loop.  If I move the for loop to the right some, the error does not occur.  (Also, on some crashes  "xstuffprivate.cpp, line 1887" popped up upon restarting labview.)

Message Edited by Ravens Fan on 01-08-2008 04:04 PM
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(7,156 Views)
Thanks RavensFan.  I have tried creating and re-creating.  I know that it's a weird rookie design.  It was one of the first things I did when I started.  Truthfully I wasn't even sure why it worked at the time.  The bottom line was that if I input a 100 Hz pulse the readout said 100 and it was consisitently accurate across the spectrum.  The number this VI displays is not even displayed normally, it's just plugged into math.