FIRST Tech Challenge Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where are the motor/servo definitions stored?

This is a question for NI, as it involved LVLM internals..

I've been using LabVIEW in FIRST for about 4 years now and consider myself fairly experienced.

Because I also coach FRC, I prefer to run LVLM using the more mainstream LabVIEW environment (Tools/ Choose Environment/ LabVIEW) rather than the more restrictive LVLM environment.

So we created a regular LabVIEW project under /My Documents/LabVIEW Data/FTC 2013, and copy/pasted our blank LVLM Teleop template.vi into that folder.  (This is how we seed our project with a valid template.)

Initially, when openning the template, Labview companins that it can't find the original .lvrbt project, but once we go in and update any motor assignments, this seems to remove the dependance on the original LVLM project file.

To do this we strip out the existing "template" motor references and use the "configure" option in the "motor" input pulldown to invoke the Schematic Editor to create new ones.

Everything seems to work fine at this point and we can continue to make chanes to the schematic assignments.  The robot runs as expected.

However, the problem is that the Motor/Servo constants don't seem to follow the newly created project when it's transfered or backed up.

Why do I say this???

Well, the S/W team went ahead and created all the motor/servo constants on our development PC, but when I coppied the entire project folder to the Laptop we use for field testing, it looks like the schematic assignments didn't transfer.

If we just pull up the Teleop code, the Motor/Servo names are correct in the VI, but if you try to change the motor selection, an outdated legacy list of motors and servos show up. (ones that already existed on the laptop)

So the selections that reside in the VI are correct, but the live list of available selections is being pulled from somewhere else.