FIRST Robotics Competition Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are the LabVIEW Resources available to team members and mentors?

I am new to the FRC community, and I am trying to come up to speed and learn robotics as quickly as possible to work in some capacity as a volunteer.

I downloaded the frc.chm help file and noted that so far help information is only available for the First Vision VIs and PID VIs; however, no information has been released in the help file for the WPI Robotics Library VIs. Do you have an estimated time when they may be available?

It is my understanding that all FRC Team members will be permitted to download a copy of LabVIEW 8.5.1. and will be able to install a license that will allow them to use the software for a period of 1 year. However, that downloaded software does not currently include the First Vision, PID, and WPI Robotics Library VIs. Will every team member and mentor get a copy of these robotic specific VIs once available for the same 1 year period? Are these robotic specific Vis accessible on any computer if it is not actually connected to the camera and cRIO?

I am asking these questions to get an idea how to effectively teach LabVIEW Programming to newcomers in First who did not have the opportunity to work with the new system on beta evalution teams.

Thank You, Jim

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(11,385 Views)

Jim,

The latest help file (frc.chm) available to download contains documentation for all of the VIs in the WPI robotics library. I am aware that we cannot yet view the documentation for the VIs that make up the PID and Vision palettes in the current document. I am working with one of our tech writers to resolve this. We hope to post the full LabVIEW FRC Edition 2009 help document (including FIRST Vision, PID, and WPI Libraries) soon.

Cheers,

Mark

Mark
NI App Software R&D
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,315 Views)

Mark,