FIRST Robotics Competition Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vision Assistant will not let me acquire an image from the camera

I have been able to to do the "Image Processing in LabVIEW for FRC" tutorial with reasonable results.

I have NO past experience with cameras on a computer.

I am learning that the color template is significant in finding the object that I am looking for,

I believe that it would be a major advantage if I could be searching for colors that the camera sees rather than colors taken from an image file.

I have tried several different times to use the Acquire Image option in the Vision Assistant and I get the following error.

Error 56 occurred at TCP Open Connection in Read Axis JPG.vi->IVA Axis IP IMAQ Exec.vi->IVA Axis IP IMAQ Interface.vi->IVA Call Process Module Interface.vi:2->IVA Acquisition Tools Palette.vi

I hope there is a way of fixing this?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(13,692 Views)

Dear RobotMan,

To acquire images with the custom step developed for Vision Assistant (step name: Acquire Image (Axis IP)), you must:

1) Connect your Axis camera directly to the computer using a crossover cable (orange cable from the KOP).

2) Change the IP address of your computer to 192.168.0.xx where "xx" is any non used port. I used 192.168.0.8 in my testing. See section 5.5.1 of the FRC Control System Manual

3) Now try to snap or grab an image from Vision Assistant

If you still have problems, check on the IP address of your camera by using the tool shipped on the Axis setup CD, and make sure it matches the IP specified in Vision Assistant. The default should be 192.168.0.90.

Best Regards,

~Nate

NI FIRST Support

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,431 Views)

I did the things that you suggested without difficulty.

Now, when I press the "Acquire Image" button I get the following:

Error -20001 occurred at Read Axis JPG.vi

Data length from camera = 0

Possible reason(s):