From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

FIRST Robotics Competition Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with testing the speed controller and running the motor.

Hello everyone, my name is Xavier and I have been doing robotics for 5 years now.

My team has received the new controller system and we started connecting everything together. We are just trying to make a motor move without the joystick for now.

We are having a problem with the speed controller receiving information from the programming or from the digital sidecar. We are not sure which one it is but I think it is from the programming since the speed controller is getting power from power distribution block and the pwm cable is connected to the right port.

The light on the speed controller is blinking yellow which makes me think that the programming is wrong since that means that the speed controller is not receiving any information.

Everything is powered (the pdb, speed controller, crio, driver station and the digital sidecar lights are on) and connected to each other (power distribution block wired to the driver station through an ethernet cable, ds connect to the pc with ethernet cable, switch on ds is connected, speed controller is connected to the first pwm channel on the digital sidecar).