FIRST Robotics Competition Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

On/Off Relay Controller Program using LabVIEW

Hey, 

I am trying to control 6 individual relays with the same button in labview and I cannot figure it out. I am extremely new to labview and all of my knowledge of it has relied on the internet. 

I am using the old 2012/2013 labview software because I am using a CRio on my robot. I began my project by using the FRC basic robot code. 

Basically what I am trying to do is activate each relay when I press the button x amount of times. 

For example, shoot relay one when i press the button the first time, then I press a different button to switch to the next relay, then press my first button to shoot the next relay I switched to. The second button would go through all of the relays 1-6 and then go back to 1 once I pressed the button again and the first button would shoot whatever relay I have chosen. 

I might be overthinking this, in Begin. Vi I have set up for a regular relay function and in Teleop.Vi I have it setup for button 1. I setup a "cascading" mechanism where it goes through 6 "select" values and adds one variable before it continues to the next then finishes in the set values port of the relay setup. 

Please understand I need a lot of help and I am very new to labview.

I have looked all over the internet for the past week searching for an answer, I must be the only crazy person trying to do this. 

Side note: I have no idea how to put in multiple relay inputs. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,624 Views)

I've attached a file that might help you along, backsaved to 2012.

Essentially it uses two shift registers to track the index (and reset as needed) and the array of current values, because I implemented this to have a "toggle" button.

Let me know if you need help extending it to something else.

GCentral
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(2,584 Views)