Dynamic Signal Acquisition

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wav streaming and data clipping

I am new to sound measurements and I am facing problem with something that was supposed to be trivial. I want to stream data from NI USB 4431 during sound measurement. I thought that streaming into a wav file would be as simple as writing into normal binary file... but ouch. When I stream the data it clips (cuts) it to -1;1. So my question is what is the right way to do this? Should I convert do I32 and write the conversion constant to the wav header somehow? Or should I rescale the data and write it as a double?

I have the sound and vibration toolkit but I didn’t find a good example for this.

Thanks

Note: the vi doesn’t create microphone channel but just AI so I get nice sinus from virtual card for testing

LV 2011, Win7
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(7,115 Views)

Hello.

Did you check in LV help to find answer on your question. To see short description how certain function in LV works press CTRL+H and place your cursor on function you are interested in (in your case name of function is Sound File Write.vi). After doing this small window (called context help will open). This one has contains link to detailed help. In detailed help you can find answer on your question (cliping to range -1 to 1 is feature of function you were using). 

Also , you asked " So my question is what is the right way to do this?", what do you mean by this (what does it refer to)?

Please let me know if you will need any other assistance.

Regards,

Sofija

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(7,107 Views)

Hi, sure I know how to use the Help, I am not a newbie to LabVIEW 🙂

I am just asking what is the convetion of writing the wav file during acustic measurements to be able to retrieve its data and play it.

Thanks 

LV 2011, Win7
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(7,099 Views)

Hello Ceties.