Dynamic Signal Acquisition

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wandering DC level 9234 and microphone

Hi there,

We are using a NI 9234 module with accelerometers, impact hammers and IEPE microphones (GRAS).

I'm fairly new to using NI hardware interfaces, and have versions of data acquisition working in both Matlab (via session-based interface) and directly in labview/signal express.

I've noticed this strage phenomena of a wandering DC level for all measurement channels, especially when connected to the IEPE microphones. See the attached figures. This requires extra steps during data processing, which is pretty frustrating. Is this normal behaviour for these data acquisition devices?

There are 2 attachments, which show the behaviour during silence, and during speaking. In each case you can see the DC level wandering around all over the place, like there's a grounding problem in the device, or something similar.

Note that I have tried multiple different BNC cables, and I've run the tests in different physical locations (home, office, lab).

Many thanks,

Mike

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(8,312 Views)

Hi Mike,

Just a couple of questions to start with,

1) What is the scale on the graph? I am assuming it is just volts.

2) Would you be able to let me know what microphone you are using?

3) Can you remove the microphone from the input and see what noise we get on the device with nothing connected? 

4) Do you have another device that you can measure the signal that we get from the microphone instead of the NI 9234?

Cheers,

Luke

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(8,256 Views)

Hi Luke,

Many thanks for your message.

1) The scale is in Pascals (i.e. it's converted to Pa via the TEDS chip/interface interaction)

2) The Mic is a 46AE (we have numerous other models too from GRAS, all of which seem to behave like this). Our model produces about 54mV/Pa when powered over IEPE/ICP. It is about 4 months old.