From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Dynamic Signal Acquisition

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

4472B Sound & Vib boards - how to maintain relevancy?

Hello everyone,

I have a few PXI-4472B Sound & Vibration boards that we have used in the past with:

• PXI-1044 chassis
  • PXI-8360 MXI Express interface

that we would connect to a laptop through a expresscard/34 -> thunderbolt 2 adapter -> thunderbolt 3 adapter...

However, I haven't been able to get this kludge to work with my machine and I assume that this method is obsolete.

I was looking at the PXIe-1083 for a solution but after some research, I do not believe the PXI-4472B boards will work with the Hybrid peripheral slots of this chassis.

I'm a bit new to NI equipment. Could anyone recommend a chassis/interface setup that could make use of our existing PXI-4472B boards? I would be interested in a low channel count (maybe 4 or 5 slots) or high channel count option (~14 slots). I'm not sure what the benefit would be of having an embedded controller versus direct interface to my laptop. Generally I take data with a Python script and my laptop has a Thunderbolt 3/USB-C port.

The application is mobile, or semi mobile data acquisition of sound & vibration data (that was probably obvious!).

Thanks in advance, everyone!

Edit: the most I have been able to see is the MXI expresscard in NI MAX...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,635 Views)

I admire your dedication to those modules. It sounds like they have served you well.