From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Driver Development Kit (DDK)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

self calibration of NI PCI-6251 (M series) using the DDK

Solved!
Go to solution
Hi,

I am new in this froum, and I started with the DDK two weeks ago, and so far I got most of the things that I need to work with the NI PCI-6251 (M series) DAQ board plugged into an Intel Dual Atom board D945GCLF2 running (Pure)Darwin 9.6 (build 9G55 -- this is not Mac OS X).

BTW: NI-DAQmx for Mac OS X utilizes a hell a lot of Apple's closed source frameworks and therefore it does not work on a strictly Open Source Darwin installation. That's the reason why I have to live with the functionality provided by the DDK.

I read the articles on calibration and I searched the NI discussion forum, and my understanding so far is, that self-calibration is possible using the DDK, but it is not that easy as with MAX.

First question:

Is it really basically possible to get self-calibration of a PCI-6251 somehow to work using the DDK?

If YES

I read the article http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/3688  about the sophisticated polynomial calibration scheme for the M series boards named NI-MCal, and the second question is:

Is the NI-MCal routine implemented at the DAQ board and that does already most of the magic,
   or do I need to implement the whole NI-MCal sequence step-by-step by software by myself?

If YES (magic routine at the board)

How can I utilize it using the DDK?

If NO (no magic routine at the DAQ board)

From said article I understood that the NI-MCal sequence works follows:

1. Linearity Correction
    a) measure the INL of the ADC by sweeping the on-board
        PWM based DAC through the entire range