Driver Development Kit (DDK)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analog Triggering and Interrupt generation on the PCIe-6320 under Linux

We would like to use the analog triggering functions of the PCIe-6320 under Linux to time tag external events.

I have no experience with the MH DDK but have been told this is what we would need to implement the functions we want. We plan on using Fedora Linux and we are targetting kernel 2.6.31 with the PREEMPT_RT patch applied. We may consider slightly more recent kernel versions. The PREEMPT_RT patch is used to greatly improve determinism in the system and get real-time responses to some external events.

Here is what we wish to do in more details:

We wish to route at least two analog inputs to the comparator, then route the output of the comparator to a digital input which in turn would create a PCIe interrupt. The interrupt software handler would than time tag that event for our application purposes. We need the comparator threshold to be software programmable in level and slope. We are also interested in using the Watchdog Timer feature of the board.

Our application is written in C/C++.

Would the above be feasible? Please provide comments and instructions how we should address our requirement.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(8,655 Views)

Patof wrote:

We wish to route at least two analog inputs to the comparator, then route the output of the comparator to a digital input which in turn would create a PCIe interrupt. The interrupt software handler would than time tag that event for our application purposes. We need the comparator threshold to be software programmable in level and slope. We are also interested in using the Watchdog Timer feature of the board.

An X Series device only has one comparator, and so to gurantee that a trigger condition is always detected, each analog signal requires its own comparator (and thus its own X Series device).