Dr. LabVIEW

This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.

Interfacing U2000 Hitachi spectrophotometer to pc via RS232C

Hi, I am new to LabView, but I would like to try to connect U2000 Hitachi UV-Vis Spectrophotometer to a PC Via Rs232C. This U2000 is a standalone machine. Anyone could help, Can I use Labview to do this task. Please help. Thank you.

The manual books of the machine stated:

pin 2 -- TX Data

pin 3 -- RX Data

pin 4 -- RTS

pin 5 -- CTS

pin 20 -- DTR

pin 1  --- FG

pin 7 -- SG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(9,140 Views)
11 REPLIES 11

Re: Interfacing U2000 Hitachi spectrophotometer to pc via RS232C

Hi there!

First you need to know if your PC has serial port or only USB ports. In case you have only USB ports you'll need to convert the data from your device to USB using a serial-to-USB converter.

It's very easy to make LabVIEW to "hear" a serial port (even if connected to a USB port) using VISA (check at 'All programs > National Instruments > VISA'). You'll find the proper nodes at the functions pallete at 'Data Communications > Protocols > Serial' (I've attached an image). Using the nodes is pretty simple, remember you have Ctrl+H to view the context help and also the detailed help option to fully understand every block and even to find examples.

Hope this works, let me know!

--

Luis Ibarra

RS232.png

Message 2 of 12
(3,098 Views)

Hi,

Thanks Luis, I have sucess with the communication. How do I read & collect data from the machine..Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,097 Views)
Highlighted

Hi again

I don't know if you are asking about collecting data (¿?), if so, you only need to use the "Read" node shown in my las post, and use the necesary inputs to get the ASCII interpretation of what your device is sending.