Do More with Your NI USB-TC01

This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.
Highlighted

Using the USB-TC01

Hello

I've come across the USB-TC01 device whilst searching on google for a new temperature probe and have a few questions.  I have no experience of National Instruments at all, so whilst these may sound like noob questions, please bear with me.

I have an existing PDA application written for the .net compact framework designed specifically to run on both X86 and ARM platforms for most handheld units. Previously we have used a serial interface to a temperature probe but we are now investigating USB. The primary function of the application is to collect data for water assets and take relevant temperatures for each asset. Note: This is not a "logger" type application where regular temperatures are required but a "sampling" type where a single instance of a temperature is taken and stored. We may also want to take multiple temperature types for a single asset i.e. Hot, Cold, Ambient, etc.

My questions about this device are.

Can I get a temperature directly from the device without using LabView? Is there an API is supports/supported by  the .net compact framework?

Can the device be used just to record a single temperature i.e. request sent from application to read temperature, device returns the curent temperature.

Is there any delay between the probe reading the temperature and the transmission to the pda. i.e. is it logged first then sent or does a request interrogate the probe directly and return the temperature at that instant.

Does a change of probe require the device to be reset. I.e. if I take a temperatre with a wire probe and then change to a contact probe, does the device need a control reset or will it read using the new probe (Assume they will both by K-Type)

Thanks in advance for any help

Andie

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,065 Views)
12 REPLIES

Re: Using the USB-TC01

Hi Andie-